5 Year “THRIVER” Celebration


 

Quote

Red Shoes, Purple Scarves & Chocolate Pudding| Emma E Houston
It appears that the word I onced used to describe my cancer journey was "survivor" which is familiar to many in the world of cancer.  I had the pleasure of meeting Lisa Nichols (The Secret) at the Illuminated Woman – Ignite Your Spark Women’s Conference and have changed my perspective to embrace the word "THRIVER."  Not that I’m into lables which often times places us in restrictive boxes but "THRIVER" rings true to the many who have made our cancer journey and is more true to me than the word survivor.   "THRIVING" in any situation becomes an extension of who we are.  It intensifies the determination of our individual spirit. There are so many fabulous "THRIVERS" who step away from their personal circumstances to help make the journey better for others.  Stage III Breast Cancer is not a journey that you dream about doing when you’re daydreaming in elementary school, but it is a journey that I would not trade. (REALLY)  The people who have touched my life, the opportunities I have been given to share my story, the joy I feel when I see the fighter spirit emerge and the gratitude that I encounter on a daily basis speaks volumes for what I know to be true.  Our mess becomes our message, our test becomes our testimony, our cups overflow to help fill up others.  THRIVER – Yes, I like.   

This entry was posted in Health and wellness. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment